Since 2013, the Berlin-based DEFA Foundation has been awarding the Heiner-Carow-Prize at the Berlin International Film Festival (Berlinale). It recognizes German feature films, documentaries, or essay films in the Panorama category. The prize is 5,000 Euro and the winner is determined by a three-person jury.

Matthias Freihof and Heiner Carow

Matthias Freihof and Heiner Carow

Matthias Freihof and Heiner Carow (1989) Photography: Wolfgang Fritsche

With this award, the DEFA Foundation commemorates the filmmaker  Heiner Carow (1929-1997), who directed films in the Babelsberg Film Studios such as THEY CALLED HIM AMIGO (1959), THE RUSSIANS ARE COMING (1968), THE LEGEND OF PAUL AND PAULA (1973), ICARUS (1976), UNTIL DEATH DO US PART (1979), and COMING OUT (1989). For COMING OUT, he received the Silver Bear in the Competition section at the Berlinale in February 1990.

The Heiner-Carow-Prize is part of the Berlinale awards that are given by independent juries, which bestows awards on behalf of external organizations and institutions independent of the festival.

Annekatrin Hendel
Jury und Annekatrin Hendel

Preisträger 2019


The DEFA Foundation has been awarding on 14 th February at the 69 th Berlin International Film Festival the Heiner-Carow-Prize to Annekatrin Hendel for her film SCHÖNHEIT & VERGÄNGLICHKEIT.

Read More

we are using cookies, by using our website, you agree to it. Privacy Policy

menu arrow-external arrow-internal camera tv print arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-top arrow-link sound display date facebook facebook-full range framing download filmrole cleaning Person retouching scan search audio twitter cancel youtube instagram